Sunrise, Jan 1st, 2020

twentytwenty

Ahamed Nizar
3 min readDec 31, 2020

The start of the year 2020 was one word: amazing. The most futuristic-sounding year of my time will be the foundation of my pivotal success. Plans upon plans upon plans were made. An entire year scheduled and scripted to a tee.

From celebrating the New Years at the stunning Closenburg Hotel with Maribou State ushering in the new decade to being best man at two of my favourite people’s weddings and spending more time in 5-Star hotel rooms than expected. Father and I planned to expand the family business with me getting more involved in it, dreams of launching a luggage brand with an Indian manufacturing plant and launching my men's fashion line.

Needless to say, everything went up in smoke with the rise of COVID-19.

The year 2020 was planned out so well, and even though it all fell through I did learn, realise and do some amazing and more fulfilling things that have a better platform and pivot that I had imagined.

Gratefulness

Despite living with my parents for most of the year, I tend to spend large amounts of time travelling the country or overseas. The forced lockdown got me to sit down with my parents for three meals a day which we rarely do even on a Sunday or holiday. Created memories that I will always cherish such as finding out who has better luck in carrom, cooked and cleaned with mother, accompanied…

--

--

Ahamed Nizar

Business Consultant and Freelance Writer getting his mojo back. Email: connect@ahamednizar.com